Sharjah Award for Arabic Poetry

Under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Dr Sultan Al Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council, Ruler of Sharjah, The Sharjah Award for Arabic Poetry was launched in 2011 to honour poets and pioneers in Arabic Poetry. Each year the Award will be given to a local personality as well as an Arab personality.
The Honourees:
First Session 2011
Mohammed Al Tohami            (Arab Republic of Egypt)
Second Session 2012
Mohammed bin Hader            (United Arab Emirates)
Mohammed Najeeb Al Murad        (Syrian Arab Republic)
Third Session 2013
Abdul-Aziz Ismail            (United Arab Emirates)
Dr Khalifa Al Waqeyan            (State of Kuwait)
Fourth Session 2014
Salim Al Zumer                (United Arab Emirates)
Haroun Hashim Rashid            (State of Palestine)
Fifth Session 2015
Abdullah Al Hadeyah            (United Arab Emirates)
Mohammed Ali Shams Al Deen        (Lebanese Republic)
Sixth Session 2016
Ahmad Mohammed Obaid        (United Arab Emirates)
Dr Rashid Eissa                (The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan)